If it goes on like this, kitchens will be closed.

 

The skills shortage is a major challenge in the gastronomy sector

In every sector, everyone is talking about the skills shortage. This is also very much the case in the gastronomy and catering sector. The trade magazine Catering Management justifiably proposed in its April 2019 issue that the scarcity of trained personnel should be voted the “gastronomy (un)word of the year – or rather the decade”.

 

Main reasons for the skills shortage

The lack of skilled staff is prevalent in many professions, most of which are vocations requiring an apprenticeship. This is one of the biggest challenges for the labour market and is a problem that will occupy us for a long time to come. It goes without saying that companies need skilled personnel. Although many manufacturers develop products that automate processes in the kitchen so that skilled staff are no longer essential for those processes, trained personnel are still required in order to be able to innovate, be competitive and to grow.

Demographic change: fewer employees

It was foreseeable, but too little was done. According to current estimates, there will be a shortage of three million skilled personnel in Germany by 2030 – and that figure is set to rise. Before, companies looking to fill a vacancy could choose from a great many suitable applicants. Those days are long gone. Even worse: these days, it is often the case that there are no suitable applicants. On average, every third vacancy in the gastronomy sector remains unfilled.

University instead of an apprenticeship: an image problem

Careers requiring an apprenticeship have lost their appeal. There are too few young professionals coming up through the ranks as a result. School-leavers with A levels are choosing to go to university in record numbers. Those who do decide on an apprenticeship mostly choose technical or commercial vocations. In addition to this, the proportion of apprentices who drop out of their apprenticeships is very high among trainee chefs and restaurant and hospitality sector specialists. Why is this? “Soft benefits” such as flexible working times or a good working climate are more important to young applicants than ever before. Apprenticeships are hardly synonymous with good earnings and self-determination, and young people are no longer willing to put up with it.

 

 

Shortage of skilled staff in gastronomy

The lack of skilled staff and young professionals in gastronomy poses particular challenges for human resources officers and managers:

  • why should a kitchen employee cling to one position when it is so easy to find another that sounds much better (at least at first)?
  • • Unusual, mostly long working hours, stress and lack of appreciation mean there is little appetite for vocations in gastronomy and catering. Why should a young school-leaver choose such a career? Apprenticeship levels in gastronomy companies are at their lowest levels since 1976.
  • Or, having already started an apprenticeship, the trainee discovers too late that he or she has made the wrong decision. In terms of vocations offering apprenticeships, the highest level of trainees breaking off their training is found in the gastronomy sector (42–50 %).

It is high time to tackle the skills shortage

There is already a shortage of skilled personnel in many gastronomy and catering businesses today. Now is the time to create better working conditions in which employees are happy to work and to find new ways of recruiting new staff and retaining them for the long term. It will be tough to deal with a lack of young professionals coming through the ranks – much harder than it already is today.

 

Skills shortage: a multi-faceted topic


One single article cannot do justice to the topic of the skills shortage with a particular focus on gastronomy and catering. The topic is far too complex for that, which is why we are examining the topic in several parts.

  • Employer branding: smartening up for employees
  • Spicing up recruitment: new ways of finding employees
  • Retaining staff instead of constantly seeking new ones: inspiring and obtaining employee loyalty
  • What the future holds: young professionals are essential
  • Automated and digital: the kitchen of the future

Wenn es so weitergeht, bleibt die Küche kalt

 

Fachkräftemangel als große Herausforderung in der Gastronomie

Jeder spricht vom Fachkräftemangel. Auch in der Gastronomie und im Catering ist das Wort ein zuverlässiger Begleiter. Berechtigterweise schlug die Fachzeitung Catering Management den Fachkräftemangel bereits in der Ausgabe 04/2019 als „gastronomisches (Un)Wort des Jahres oder besser Jahrzehnts“ vor.

 

Hauptgründe für den Fachkräftemangel

Der Fachkräftemangel betrifft viele Berufsgruppen, nicht wenige davon sind Ausbildungsberufe. Er zählt zu den größten Herausforderungen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt – und wird uns wohl noch lange beschäftigen. Dabei steht es außer Frage, dass Betriebe auf Fachkräfte angewiesen sind. Zwar achten viele Hersteller bei der Produktentwicklung schon darauf, Geräte zu bauen, die Prozesse in der Küche automatisieren und nicht mehr zwingend Fachkräfte voraussetzen. Trotzdem werden aber auch weiterhin Fachkräfte benötigt, um innovativ agieren zu können, wettbewerbsfähig zu sein und um zu wachsen.

Der demografische Wandel: weniger Arbeitskräfte

Es war absehbar und doch wurde zu wenig getan. Aktuell wird geschätzt, dass allein aufgrund des demographischen Wandels bereits 2030 drei Millionen Fachkräfte in Deutschland fehlen werden – Tendenz steigend . Früher konnten Betriebe, die eine Stelle zu besetzen hatten, den geeigneten Bewerber aus einer Vielzahl an Kandidaten auswählen. Diese Zeiten sind schon lange vorbei. Noch schlimmer: Heute bewirbt sich auf viele Stellen gar niemand Geeignetes mehr. In der Gastronomie bleibt schon jetzt im Durchschnitt jede dritte ausgeschriebene Stelle unbesetzt.

Studium statt Ausbildung: ein Imageproblem

Ausbildungsberufe haben an Glanz verloren. Als Folge gibt es zu wenig Nachwuchs. Noch häufiger als früher wählen Abiturienten den Weg an die Uni. Wer sich doch für eine Ausbildung entscheidet, sucht sich überwiegend technisch geprägte oder kaufmännische Berufe aus. Hinzu kommt: Ob Restaurantfachmann, Koch oder Fachkraft im Gastgewerbe, die gastronomischen Ausbildungsberufe liegen bei den Abbrecherquoten ganz oben. Warum ist das so? „Softe Benefits“ wie flexible Arbeitszeiten oder ein gutes Betriebsklima sind bei jungen Bewerbern gefragter denn je. Lehrjahre sind aber keine Herrenjahre – das machen viele junge Menschen nicht mehr mit.

 

 

Fachkräftemangel in der Gastronomie

In der Gastronomie stellt der Fachkräfte- und Nachwuchsmangel Personaler und Führungskräfte vor besondere Herausforderungen:

  • Warum soll ein Küchenmitarbeiter an einer Stelle festhalten, wenn es doch so leicht ist, eine neue zu finden – die sich (erst einmal) viel besser anhört?
  • Ungewöhnliche, meist lange Arbeitszeiten, Stress und wenig Wertschätzung machen wenig Lust auf Berufe in der Gastronomie und im Catering. Warum sollte sich ein junger Mensch nach Schulabschluss also dafür entscheiden? Die Ausbildungszahlen in Gastronomiebetrieben sind auf dem tiefsten Stand seit 1976.
  • Oder bereits in der Ausbildung merkt der Azubi zu spät, dass der Beruf doch nicht die richtige Entscheidung für ihn war. Die Gastronomiebranche verzeichnet mit 42 – 50 % die höchste Abbrecherquote bei Ausbildungsberufen.

Es ist höchste Zeit, etwas gegen den Fachkräftemangel zu tun

Heute fehlen bereits viele Fachkräfte in Gastronomiebetrieben und im Catering. Es ist jetzt an der Zeit, ein besseres Arbeitsumfeld zu schaffen, in dem die Mitarbeiter gerne arbeiten, und neue Wege zu gehen, um Mitarbeiter zu finden und langfristig zu begeistern. Die Zeiten mit fehlendem Nachwuchs werden hart – noch deutlich härter als jetzt!

 

Fachkräftemangel: ein vielseitiges Thema


Um dem Thema Fachkräftemangel mit besonderem Fokus in der Gastronomie und im Catering gerecht zu werden, reicht ein einzelner Beitrag nicht aus. Das Thema ist dafür zu vielfältig und deshalb geben wir ihm in einer mehrteiligen Serie Raum.

  • Employer Branding: Herausputzen für den Bewerber
  • Über den Tellerrand geguckt: Neue Wege gehen, um Mitarbeiter zu finden
  • Lieber halten, statt ständig neu suchen: Mitarbeiter begeistern und binden
  • Den Blick in die Zukunft: Ohne Nachwuchs geht es nicht
  • Automatisiert und digital: Wie sieht die Küche der Zukunft aus?